Skip to main content
Trends · Stage 1

Who gets invited to apply

Official IRCC data on who receives Invitations to Apply (ITAs) via Express Entry: programs, score distributions, source countries, and occupations.

Getting an Invitation to Apply is the moment Express Entry stops being a waiting game and becomes a real application. This page walks through the official IRCC data on who actually receives those invitations: which programs they came through, what scores cleared the bar, where they came from, and what they did for a living. None of it tells you exactly what will happen in your case, but it shows you the real shape of the competition you are part of.

Filter year-specific charts

Year-specific charts below show data for 2026. The program mix chart shows all years.

Invitations by program, all years

Number of invitations issued per year, by program

Total ITAs issued each year across CEC, FSW, FST, and PNP. All years shown, not filtered by the year selector above.

201521,535
201625,725
201767,745
201871,725
201971,630
202081,150
2021108,095
202237,320
202385,745
202490,005
202574,550
2026 (YTD)72,345
Canadian Experience ClassFederal Skilled TradesFederal Skilled WorkerNot StatedProvincial Nominee Program
Details
Canadian Experience ClassFederal Skilled TradesFederal Skilled WorkerNot StatedProvincial Nominee Program
20158,0451,8458,66502,980
201610,3201,3056,97007,130
201729,22034029,09009,095
201825,07030036,225010,130
201925,63511532,655013,225
202044,67019522,155014,130
202185,76008,650013,685
202212,97005,200019,150
202341,455021,710022,580
202443,870021,040025,095
202535,190029,165010,195
2026 (YTD)41,650024,62006,075

Each bar is the total number of people IRCC invited that year, divided by which program they came through. The Canadian Experience Class has dominated in most recent years because it targets people already working in Canada on temporary permits, and that population has grown considerably. The Federal Skilled Worker stream accounts for applicants whose skilled experience was mostly abroad. Provincial Nominee Program rounds appear when provinces and IRCC run aligned category-based draws, which can spike PNP counts significantly in a single year.

The year-to-year swings tell a policy story as much as a talent story. When IRCC wants to hit an annual target, it runs more draws. When it wants to pace to a lower target, it runs fewer. You cannot read much about applicant quality from the total count alone.

CRS score bands

Number of people invited in each CRS score band (2026)

Count of ITAs issued, grouped by the CRS score of the candidate at invitation. Rounded to nearest 5; small counts suppressed by IRCC. Band widths vary.

Score 151 - 2000
Score 201 - 2500
Score 251 - 3005
Score 301 - 35010
Score 351 - 4002,025
Score 401 - 45016,240
Score 451 - 50012,320
Score 501 - 60035,610
Score 601 - 7000
Score 701 - 80040
Score 801 - 900220
Score 901 - 10002,570
Score 1001 - 11003,175
Score 1101 - 120055
Details
Score 151 - 2000
Score 201 - 2500
Score 251 - 3005
Score 301 - 35010
Score 351 - 4002,025
Score 401 - 45016,240
Score 451 - 50012,320
Score 501 - 60035,610
Score 601 - 7000
Score 701 - 80040
Score 801 - 900220
Score 901 - 10002,570
Score 1001 - 11003,175
Score 1101 - 120055

These are counts of people, not averages or percentages. The tallest bar is the score band where most invitations landed. What you will notice is that the distribution is not uniform: it tends to cluster just above the cut-off for that year’s draws. When IRCC runs a category-based round with a lower cut-off, a large group of people in a lower score band gets invited at once, which pulls the whole year’s distribution downward.

If you are looking for the score range that actually matters, the cut-off from the most recent draw of your category is the number to watch. This chart is the record of what cleared the bar over the whole year, not just the most recent round.

Top source countries

Number of people invited, by country of citizenship (2026)

Number of invited candidates from each of the top 10 countries of citizenship. Rounded to nearest 5.

India: 24,795 invited candidatesNigeria: 4,340 invited candidatesChina, People's Republic of: 3,230 invited candidatesAlgeria: 2,500 invited candidatesPhilippines: 1,770 invited candidatesIran: 1,555 invited candidatesMorocco: 1,325 invited candidatesFrance: 1,260 invited candidatesBrazil: 745 invited candidatesPakistan: 745 invited candidatesBangladesh: 695 invited candidatesUkraine: 685 invited candidatesSri Lanka: 675 invited candidatesColombia: 630 invited candidatesTunisia: 585 invited candidatesMexico: 565 invited candidatesUnited States of America: 560 invited candidatesNepal: 515 invited candidatesVietnam: 405 invited candidatesGhana: 370 invited candidatesHaiti: 355 invited candidatesSenegal: 330 invited candidatesTurkey: 295 invited candidatesBurundi: 250 invited candidatesEgypt: 250 invited candidatesLebanon: 235 invited candidatesPeru: 210 invited candidatesRussia: 190 invited candidatesJamaica: 175 invited candidatesRwanda: 175 invited candidates
20,0006,0002,000Bubble area proportional to count · full ranking and exact figures below
Details
India24,795
Cameroon, Federal Republic of13,160
Nigeria4,340
China, People's Republic of3,230
Algeria2,500
Philippines1,770
Iran1,555
Morocco1,325
France1,260
Ivory Coast, Republic of1,065
Details
India24,795
Cameroon, Federal Republic of13,160
Nigeria4,340
China, People's Republic of3,230
Algeria2,500
Philippines1,770
Iran1,555
Morocco1,325
France1,260
Ivory Coast, Republic of1,065
Official · IRCC

This shows how many people from each country received an ITA. India and China consistently appear near the top, mainly because they have very large populations working in Canada on temporary permits, many of whom have become CEC-eligible over the years. It reflects who is in the pool, not any preference built into the program. Your country of citizenship does not affect your CRS score or your eligibility.

Top occupations

Number of people invited, by occupation (2026)

Number of invited candidates in each of the top 10 NOC occupations. Rounded to nearest 5.

2171 - Information systems analysts and consultants1,980
2174 - Computer programmers and interactive media developers1,840
6311 - Food service supervisors1,705
1241 - Administrative assistants1,595
1123 - Professional occupations in advertising, marketing and public relations1,425
2173 - Software engineers and designers1,390
2172 - Database analysts and data administrators1,340
6211 - Retail sales supervisors1,325
2282 - User support technicians1,180
1311 - Accounting technicians and bookkeepers1,090
Details
2171 - Information systems analysts and consultants1,980
2174 - Computer programmers and interactive media developers1,840
6311 - Food service supervisors1,705
1241 - Administrative assistants1,595
1123 - Professional occupations in advertising, marketing and public relations1,425
2173 - Software engineers and designers1,390
2172 - Database analysts and data administrators1,340
6211 - Retail sales supervisors1,325
2282 - User support technicians1,180
1311 - Accounting technicians and bookkeepers1,090
Official · IRCC

These are counts of people who were invited with that occupation on their profile. We cannot compare them directly to the number of people in the pool with each occupation, so this is not a conversion rate. What it does show is which occupations appeared most often among the people who actually got an ITA that year.

When IRCC runs a category draw targeting a specific sector (healthcare, STEM, trade occupations), those occupations spike sharply in that year’s data. If your occupation appeared in a targeted category, that is a meaningful advantage that goes beyond your raw CRS score.

Top fields of study

Who gets invited, by field of study (2026)

Number of invited candidates in each of the top 12 fields of study. Rounded to nearest 5.

Business, Management, Marketing and Related Support Services16,975
Computing/Information Technology10,310
Business/Commerce8,760
Science, Applied8,270
Other6,345
Sciences, Health5,460
Arts, General (Humanities/Social Sciences)4,420
Sciences, General2,055
Medicine1,620
Trades/Vocational1,510
Law1,430
Biological and Biomedical Sciences1,080
Details
Business, Management, Marketing and Related Support Services16,975
Computing/Information Technology10,310
Business/Commerce8,760
Science, Applied8,270
Other6,345
Sciences, Health5,460
Arts, General (Humanities/Social Sciences)4,420
Sciences, General2,055
Medicine1,620
Trades/Vocational1,510
Law1,430
Biological and Biomedical Sciences1,080
Official · IRCC

This is the academic background of the people receiving invitations, not a requirement. Express Entry does not favour any field; what counts is your CRS score. A concentration here simply reflects who is in the pool.

Intended destination cities

Where invited candidates plan to settle (2026)

Top 12 census metropolitan areas invited candidates named as their intended destination. Rounded to nearest 5.

Toronto: 22,335 invited candidatesOttawa - Gatineau (Ontario part): 12,365 invited candidatesVancouver: 8,395 invited candidatesCalgary: 3,780 invited candidatesEdmonton: 2,755 invited candidatesKitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo: 2,290 invited candidatesWinnipeg: 2,055 invited candidatesMoncton: 1,350 invited candidatesLondon: 1,325 invited candidatesHalifax: 1,140 invited candidatesHamilton: 1,110 invited candidatesGreater Sudbury: 845 invited candidatesVictoria: 630 invited candidatesOshawa: 585 invited candidatesWindsor: 555 invited candidatesHawkesbury (Ontario part): 530 invited candidatesSt. Catharines - Niagara: 515 invited candidatesEdmundston: 485 invited candidatesCornwall: 425 invited candidatesBarrie: 330 invited candidatesRegina: 300 invited candidatesGuelph: 285 invited candidatesSaskatoon: 285 invited candidatesFredericton: 280 invited candidatesKingston: 280 invited candidates
20,0006,0001,000Bubble area proportional to count · full ranking and exact figures below
Details
Toronto22,335
Ottawa - Gatineau (Ontario part)12,365
Vancouver8,395
Calgary3,780
Edmonton2,755
Kitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo2,290
Winnipeg2,055
Moncton1,350
London1,325
Halifax1,140
Hamilton1,110
Greater Sudbury845
Details
Toronto22,335
Ottawa - Gatineau (Ontario part)12,365
Vancouver8,395
Calgary3,780
Edmonton2,755
Kitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo2,290
Winnipeg2,055
Moncton1,350
London1,325
Halifax1,140
Hamilton1,110
Greater Sudbury845
Official · IRCC

This is where invited candidates say they intend to settle at the time of invitation, which is not the same as where new permanent residents actually land. For where PRs settle once they arrive, see the settlement map in the main journey.

Age distribution

Who gets invited, by age (2026)

Number of invited candidates in each age band. Rounded to nearest 5.

Details
Official · IRCC

Express Entry has no age cap, but the CRS awards the most points in the late twenties and tapers after, so invitations concentrate there. Age is one factor among many; a strong profile can offset fewer age points.

First official language tested

First official language tested (2026)

Share of invited candidates by the first official language they were tested in. Rounded to nearest 5.

English 26.8% · 27,380French 2.2% · 2,295Official language not stated 70.9% · 72,345
Details
Official · IRCC

Most candidates test in English, but French ability can be decisive: French-language category draws have run at markedly lower CRS cutoffs, so strong French can be one of the highest-leverage ways to improve your odds.

Education level

Education level of invited candidates (2026)

Invited candidates by highest education level, comparing Canadian and foreign credentials. Rounded to nearest 5.

CanadianForeign
Details

About 50% of records have no education level captured in IRCC’s dataset (or fall under a program-specific ECA exemption) and are not shown as columns here. The comparison covers stated credentials only.

Official · IRCC

Many invited candidates hold a bachelor’s degree or higher. A Canadian credential can add CRS points a foreign one does not, which is part of why so many candidates study here first, but a foreign degree assessed through an ECA still counts.

What the data tells us

Drawn from IRCC Express Entry invitations data and draw records. Figures are approximate. IRCC rounds counts to the nearest 5.

Invitation volume: the year-over-year picture

Invitations were down 17.2% in 2025 compared with 2024. A drop in total invitations often means IRCC is pacing toward an annual target it has already partially filled, or that fewer category draws ran that year. A lower total does not mean the bar got harder for everyone uniformly. Category rounds can still invite at lower cut-offs even when the General pool sees fewer draws.

Official · IRCCIRCC Express Entry invitations (ITAs)

Category lanes that have recently invited below the General cut-off

The most recent General draw had a minimum CRS cut-off of 529. Not every draw goes to the General pool. IRCC also runs targeted category draws for specific occupational groups and French-proficiency candidates, and these have historically invited at lower scores. The table below shows which category lanes most recently cleared the bar below that General cut-off.

If your profile qualifies you for one of these categories, you may receive an invitation before the General pool clears. You do not need to apply separately for a category round. IRCC evaluates your profile automatically against any category you are eligible for when that type of round is held. IRCC does not publish a schedule for future category draws.

  • French proficiency382
  • Other389
  • Agriculture and agri-food437
  • Education occupations462
  • Transport occupations470
  • Healthcare occupations475
  • Trade occupations477
  • Federal Skilled Worker489
  • STEM occupations491
  • Canadian Experience Class518

Cut-offs shown are from each lane’s most recent draw. Past cut-offs are not a guarantee of any future round.

Official · IRCCIRCC Express Entry draws

How the General round cut-off has moved recently

Across the 8 most recent General draws, the minimum CRS cut-off moved from 543 to 529, a decrease of -14 points.

The cut-off is not a fixed bar. It moves based on how many people are in the pool at or above it and how many invitations IRCC chooses to issue in that round. A rising cut-off does not mean the system is shutting people out. It often means the pool grew, or that IRCC ran a smaller draw. A falling cut-off usually means more invitations went out in that round, sometimes because of a large category draw that cleared a specific group. Your score stays where it is unless something on your profile changes.

Official · IRCCIRCC Express Entry draws

Who gets invited: age and language

The 19-to-29 age band usually receives the most invitations in a given year, followed by the 30-to-39 band. The gap reflects how CRS age points are structured: they peak in the twenties and step down gradually after that. Being older than 29 does not disqualify you; it means the rest of your profile has to carry more weight.

On language, roughly 85 in 100 invited candidates in 2023 tested in English as their first official language. The remaining share is split between French and those whose language was not captured. French speakers represent a smaller share of the pool overall, but they have the advantage of qualifying for French-language category draws that have historically cleared at lower CRS cut-offs than the General pool.

Official · IRCCIRCC Express Entry invitations (ITAs); cited shares from 2023

About this data

  • Annual data: invitation figures are published once per year, not monthly.
  • Counts are rounded to the nearest 5 by IRCC; small counts (1–5) are suppressed. Totals are approximate and may not reconcile across dimensions.
  • “Program” means the immigration program (e.g. CEC, FSW, FST, PNP), not the draw-type category shown in the IRCC draws list.
  • Score bands with suppressed cells show as absent; the chart understates total invitation counts in those years.

Independent, not affiliated with IRCC or the Government of Canada

Source: IRCC — IRCC Express Entry invitations (ITAs), by immigration program, score band, country, and occupation. Data through 2026 · published 2026-09-15 View on open.canada.ca · Open Government Licence – Canada